I was born in 1962 in Herefordshire, UK, a county I still love for its quiet natural beauty.

I was a chorister at Hereford Cathedral, which gave me a brilliant musical education - approximately 12 practices and 8 services a week, including 3 services every Sunday.

From my early teens I loved improvising at the piano and writing music. I spent many hours listening to modern classical music on Radio 3 and to John Peel’s evening show on Radio 1. I studied organ with Roy Massey, the cathedral organist, passing the A.R.C.O. organ diploma at the age of 17. 

I was a pupil at Hereford Cathedral school, then organ scholar at St. Peter’s College, Oxford University. I have a BA (1st class) in Music from Oxford.

 




 

In 1991 I married Claire McDonald and we settled in Worcester. Claire is a fiddler from Scotland and my love of folk music has grown over the years as a result of our playing together. Much of my music has been written for us to play, particularly with our band Kings & Folk. We also play together as a piano/violin duo for concerts and weddings. 

Claire and I are involved with the music making at our local church, St. Stephen's in Barbourne, Worcester and I play organ and piano there for services.

We have 3 sons - the older two being keen musicians, particularly working with music technology. Our eldest James completed a degree in Audio Engineering at SAE Institute, Oxford in 2014. He is one half of the electronic dance music duo NVOY. 
Our middle son David is studying Maths at Trinity College, Oxford. Both James and David have played djembe drum with Kings & Folk in the past.
Our youngest son Michael was forced to take piano up to Grade 5, but gave up as soon as he was allowed to! He's now studying medicine at Nottingham university.

I enjoy listening to many different kinds of music – from medieval to modern classical, jazz to electronic dance music - and this is reflected in my teaching work, both privately and at Worcester Sixth Form College, Cranes Music in Worcester and at Droitwich Spa High School.


 

 
When not sitting at a piano I love being out in sunshine, fresh air and good countryside, especially walking on the Malvern Hills. Many of my folky compositions are inspired by my love of the countryside and this is often reflected in their titles.

I also like reading: particular favourites include Dickens and Tudor history, and I seem to have a fondness for old things such as stone circles, cathedrals, country pubs and churches. To complete my CV I should also say that I enjoy cricket, cycling and kayaking, especially on the rivers of Herefordshire and Worcestershire.